Tabla Lesson 1

I have started lessons with a new teacher and in a different style. The playing technique is different, so I have to change the way I play certain beats. I am playing very slowly to set my hand into the correct positions. Kayada 1 is something I already know but some of the variations differ from how I first learned.

I must learn all the variations below and play each beat correctly. With time I will not have to think so much about the position of my hand. When I practise and my concentration breaks, my hand plays in the old style by habit.

Kayada 1

Dha Dha Te Te Dha Dha Tun na

Ta Ta Te Te Dha Dha Dhin na

Variation 1

Dha Dha Te Te Dha Dha Te Te

Dha Dha Te Te Dha Dha Tun na

Ta Ta Te Te Ta Ta Te Te

Dha Dha Te Te Dha Dha Dhin na

Variation 2

Dha Dha Te Te Te Te Te Te

Dha Dha Te Te Dha Dha Tun na

Ta Ta Te Te Te Te Te Te

Dha Dha Te Te Dha Dha Dhin na

Variation 3

Dha Dha Dha Dha Te Te Te Te

Dha Dha Dha Dha Tun na Tun na

Ta Ta Ta Ta Te Te Te Te

Dha Dha Dha Dha Dhin na Dhin na

Variation 4

Dha Dha Dha Dha Te Te

Dha Dha Dha Dha Te Te Dha Dha Tun na

Ta Ta Ta Ta Te Te

Dha Dha Dha Dha Te Te Dha Dha Dhin na

Variation 5

Dha Te Te Dha Te Te Te Te

Dha Dha Te Te Dha Dha Tun na

Ta Te Te Ta Te Te Te Te

Dha Dha Te Te Dha Dha Dhin na

Variation 6

Dha Te Te Dha Te Te Te Te – 3

Dha Dha Te Te Dha Dha Tun na

Ta Te Te Ta Te Te Te Te – 2

Dha Te Te Dha Te Te Te Te

Dha Dha Te Te Dha Dha Dhin na

 

~ by deodesign on October 29, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
